Live from Hochstein: A Woman's World

Live from Hochstein: A Woman's World

Wed, 11/06/2013 - 12:10pm - 12:50pm

Soprano Laura Heimes

Come discover music written by women during the Baroque era, in a performance by Pegasus Early Music.

You can hear this program  here as an on-demand stream until the beginning of the spring season of Live from Hochstein, thanks to the artists granting permission to share their work.

WXXI and Hochstein School of Music and Dance present
A Woman's World: Music Composed by Women in the Baroque Period on Wednesday November 6th at 12:10 p.m. on Classical 91.5, 90.3, and streaming online at

Women composers in the baroque were professionals, nuns, entrepreneurs, travelers, and courtiers. Music of Barbara Strozzi, Elizabeth Jacquet de la Guerre, Francesca Caccini, and Isabella Leonarda, names that we wish were more familiar.

Pegasus Early Music delivers music of the past with expressive relevance today.Their concerts encompass over 400 years of music – from medieval to romantic – played on period instruments.

Laura Heimes, soprano
Emily Walhout, gamba
Michael Beattie, harpsichord
Deborah Fox, theorbo

Hosted by Classical 91.5's Mona Seghatoleslami,
Live from Hochstein is the longest running live broadcast concert series in Western New York. Broadcast live from the Hochstein Performance Hall (50 North Plymouth Ave. in Rochester), the series presents performances by some of the finest artists from the Rochester area’s musical community. Each of these free “brown bag” concerts runs from 12:10-12:50 p.m., giving downtown business people, teachers, families, students and friends an opportunity to enjoy classical music during their lunch hour.

Live from Hochstein repeats that same day at 10 p.m. on Classical 91.5, 90.3, and streaming online at

To learn more about the series, and to see a complete schedule of performances, visit